Skip to content

An Alphabet of Authors – A

June 30, 2012

It’s obvious that I’ll be doing a lot of writing about writing. But,before the writing came the reading. I can remember the first words that I read alone, to myself. I was four, kneeling on the carpet in my grandmother’s dining room. I was facing the window, and a dull light shone on the inside page of the comic: Jack and Jill.  I said the words to myself over and over; even at that age I knew something magical was happening. I wanted an adult to come in, to look over my shoulder and say ‘What a clever girl you are – reading away to yourself.’

At the very same instant, however, came the knowledge that I didn’t need an adult any more.

I . Was . Reading.

The journey had begun…

Every now and then I’ll share a few of the authors from my bookshelves. Here are some As:

Louisa May Alcott  (Reader, I kept them from childhood.)

Jane Austen

Peter Ackroyd

Suad Amiry

Hans Christian Anderson

Brian Arkins

Ibrahim al-Koni

You know, I may have cheated with the last one – is he an A or a K? Truth is, I’ve just discovered I don’t have many books by writers whose surnames begin with A!   Just you wait for the Ms, though…

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Thoor Ballylee

Yeats Thoor Ballylee Society

Buachaill Busan: Busan Boy

An Irishman's guide to life in big-city Busan, South Korea.

O' Canada

Reflections on Canadian Culture From Below the Border

History at Galway

From fadó to not-so-fadó

Interesting Literature

A Library of Literary Interestingness

Comments on: About Móna and Ron

'Two loves I have, of Comfort and Despair' - Reading and Writing

Over The Edge

'Two loves I have, of Comfort and Despair' - Reading and Writing

The Stinging Fly

'Two loves I have, of Comfort and Despair' - Reading and Writing

WINDSONG

'Two loves I have, of Comfort and Despair' - Reading and Writing

Medea999's Blog

Occasional writings

Celeste Augé

'Two loves I have, of Comfort and Despair' - Reading and Writing

Parlay-Voo Frawnsay?

The ramblings of an Irish girl in France

mareseosullivan

Writer and Journalist

