Skip to content

I’m Still Here!

April 24, 2013

strokestown-poetry-festival-poster-2013-jpeg
Sorry I’m late…but I’ve got an excuse! That was in some comic I used to read as a kid, I think.
So, I’ve missed posting on World Book Day. Major sending to the back of the class for me. And detention too.
Except that it feels like I’m in detention already. It’s a week to written exams, and revision is taking over my world. It’s time to knuckle down and keep going for… just…. another… (gasp)… three… weeks.
In the meantime, there are occasional arty happenings in my world:
An idea for a poem drifted into view yesterday and I managed to hook it and make some notes, before it drifted off again.
Cúirt Festival started in Galway and after today’s work on the Aeneid and Irish history, I will hie myself down to the Town Hall Theatre for an evening with Messrs. Seamus Heaney and Michael Longley. Who’s a lucky girl, then?
Check out Cúirt at http://www.cuirt.ie
Finally:
Your humble correspondent has been invited to read at the Strokestown International Poetry Festival on May 4th. I’ll be reading with the Galway poet, Sarah Clancy. I’m really looking forward to it. Drop in if you’re nearby.
Check out Strokestown at:
http://strokestownpoetry.org/2013/04/01/2013-festival-programme/

See you on the other side of the exams…

From → Uncategorized

2 Comments
  1. It’s bad to comment on one’s own posts, I’m sure – but there appears to be a couple of ‘World Book Days’. One in March, and World Book and Copyright Day in April. Not that I’m saying that’s a problem …. Hell, every day should be World Book Day!

Leave a Reply

Thoor Ballylee

Yeats Thoor Ballylee Society

Buachaill Busan: Busan Boy

An Irishman's guide to life in big-city Busan, South Korea.

O' Canada

Reflections on Canadian Culture From Below the Border

History at Galway

From fadó to not-so-fadó

Interesting Literature

A Library of Literary Interestingness

Comments on: About Móna and Ron

'Two loves I have, of Comfort and Despair' - Reading and Writing

Over The Edge

'Two loves I have, of Comfort and Despair' - Reading and Writing

The Stinging Fly

'Two loves I have, of Comfort and Despair' - Reading and Writing

WINDSONG

'Two loves I have, of Comfort and Despair' - Reading and Writing

Medea999's Blog

Occasional writings

Celeste Augé

'Two loves I have, of Comfort and Despair' - Reading and Writing

Parlay-Voo Frawnsay?

The ramblings of an Irish girl in France

mareseosullivan

Writer and Journalist

