Skip to content

Being Proud of One’s ‘Darlings’

March 1, 2014

WOW!

WOW!

One of the first things anyone attending a creative writing course is told is ‘One must be prepared to kill one’s darlings’. A fancy term for edit, polish, edit, polish, scrap, edit, polish, edit.

There comes a time, however, when one has permission to not only love one’s darlings, but to be proud of them.

In my third BA year, the Writing Year, I wrote a song cycle of poems. Based on 11 real women and one from Greek mythology, it’s still a song cycle in search of a composer.

Some of the poems have been submitted individually for publication, and in competitions. Two made the longlist for the Wordsonthewaves (WOW) competition. One made it to the shortlist.

Upstream, The Bliss of Heaven was one of those poems that arrived almost fully formed. It hung around the edges of my work while I fretted over the difficult pieces as time ticked away and my twelve-week deadline approached. Then I picked it up, gave it a polish, and double-checked that my beginner’s Latin was correct (thank you, Francesca!).

That was that:  a little poem about Margaret Roper and her father Thomas More; slotted chronologically into a folder, along with its 11 sisters and biographical notes.

Last night, my ‘darling’ won this year’s WOW Poetry Award. It is published in the WOW! 2014 Anthology.

I’m proud.

WOW! Anthology

WOW! Anthology

 

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a comment

Pendemic

Not a literary magazine for ordinary times, but a journal for an exceptional one. Writing the pandemic, together. Image, Somewhere in Time by Hengki Lee: Instagram @hengki_lee

Michelines Three Conditions

micheline sheehy skeffington three conditions gender discrimination nui galway

Elliptical Movements

A blog by Billy Mills

Thoor Ballylee

Yeats Thoor Ballylee Society

Buachaill Busan: Busan Boy

An Irishman's guide to life in big-city Busan, South Korea.

ARABLIT & ARABLIT QUARTERLY

A magazine of Arabic literature in translation

O' Canada

Reflections on Canadian Culture From Below the Border

History at Galway

From fadó to not-so-fadó

Comments on: About Móna and Ron

'Two loves I have, of Comfort and Despair' - Reading and Writing

Over The Edge

'Two loves I have, of Comfort and Despair' - Reading and Writing

The Stinging Fly

'Two loves I have, of Comfort and Despair' - Reading and Writing

WINDSONG

'Two loves I have, of Comfort and Despair' - Reading and Writing

Medea999's Blog

Occasional writings

Celeste Augé

'Two loves I have, of Comfort and Despair' - Reading and Writing

Parlay-Voo Frawnsay?

The ramblings of an Irish girl in France