Skip to content

Another Clare & a Poem About a Pigeon Shitting

July 1, 2014

This will be short but sweet (I hope).

It’s been a busy month, which started with another literary first – a visit to Listowel Writers’ Week. More about that and a new blog project again.

The rest of June was spent making the best of the good weather. Four undergraduate years, and one spent writing for the student newspaper, resulted in neglected gardens. Now all the beds have been weeded, fresh compost dug in along with leaves composted during the past two winters, and planting is in progress. The wrought iron seat has been Hammerite-ed in brilliant white.

Front garden and new bench for cupping mugs of coffee & sea-gazing.

A new bench has been made in the front garden. At last I have a perch from which I can gaze across to Connemara on early mornings  in summer; or on clear frosty days, cupping a mug of coffee. Yesterday, having given the bench a last coat of wood protection, I managed to get my ass in front of the PC and enter two competitions, bang on the closing dates. Could do better on the creative front, but my head is pre-occupied with PhD scholarships. I await news of two applications.

Today, the sky is clear blue over Ballyv, and I am taking the day off.  If I see a weed, I will ignore it. Hell, I may even take the poetry notebook outdoors with me!

But before I go, I want to share this with you:  http://www.rte.ie/radio/utils/radioplayer/rteradioweb.html#!rii=9%3A20607024%3A4502%3A30%2D06%2D2014%3A

This is a link to an item on yesterday’s John Murray Show on RTE Radio 1.  John meets up with a poet-busker, Stephen Clare, and his trusty typewriter.  Clare has been on the street since the winter of his final year in secondary school. Poetry he says, is for everyone. And everyone can write. He’s trying to show that poetry isn’t ‘made in ivory towers’, to be dissected by academics. As well as writing a quick poem for Murray, he taps out pieces for two women chosen on the spot: a kayaker from Galway, and an inner-city Dublin woman grieving for her brother.

It’s a charming bit of broadcasting. Clare is immensely likeable, and the reaction to his on-the-spot work is both amusing and moving.

And – I’m a sucker for the ping! of a typewriter.

Enjoy.

Now, I’m off to catch our Irish summer before the forecasted ‘low’ moves in from the Atlantic!

IMG_0889

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Michelines Three Conditions

micheline sheehy skeffington three conditions gender discrimination nui galway

Elliptical Movements

A blog by Billy Mills

Thoor Ballylee

Yeats Thoor Ballylee Society

Buachaill Busan: Busan Boy

An Irishman's guide to life in big-city Busan, South Korea.

O' Canada

Reflections on Canadian Culture From Below the Border

History at Galway

From fadó to not-so-fadó

Interesting Literature

A Library of Literary Interestingness

Comments on: About Móna and Ron

'Two loves I have, of Comfort and Despair' - Reading and Writing

Over The Edge

'Two loves I have, of Comfort and Despair' - Reading and Writing

The Stinging Fly

'Two loves I have, of Comfort and Despair' - Reading and Writing

WINDSONG

'Two loves I have, of Comfort and Despair' - Reading and Writing

Medea999's Blog

Occasional writings

Celeste Augé

'Two loves I have, of Comfort and Despair' - Reading and Writing

Parlay-Voo Frawnsay?

The ramblings of an Irish girl in France

mareseosullivan

Writer and Journalist

